Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Discover the E-book Collection of the National Library of Catalonia, a sustainable effort to engage new audiences on cultural heritage
Authors: Altarriba Vigatà, Núria
Keywords: Subject::Cultural heritage
Subject::Digital collections
Issue Date: 6-Oct-2023
Publisher: International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)
Series/Report no.: 88th IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC), 2023 Rotterdam;Poster Sessions
Abstract: The e-book collection of the National Library of Catalonia Escrits i memòria (Writings and Memory) was launched in 2015 with the aim of disseminating the most relevant heritage collections to new users, particularly those in the education and university sectors. These books are more than just text and images, as they also include audiovisual files featuring interviews with specialists on various topics, sound files with readings or musical performances, and links to other related content. This collection is aimed at a broad cultural audience and is designed to be informative yet rigorous, providing valuable insights into Catalonia's rich cultural heritage. Best of all, the books are available for free download, with many titles already available in English to promote awareness of Catalan bibliographic heritage beyond its borders. Electronic publication offers undeniable advantages, such as worldwide distribution and low cost. However, it also requires continuous effort to ensure permanent access and necessary updates. After eight years, the initial goals of dissemination are being met, with statistics showing more than 5,000 downloads of the eight titles currently available, a remarkable number compared to the sales figures of other specialized books published by the library in print format.
Appears in Collections:World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) Materials

Files in This Item:
File SizeFormat 
057-altarriba-poster-en.jpg611.46 kBJPEGView/Open

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons